Please assign a menu to the primary menu location under menu


Guregian named Sportswriter of the Year – Boston Herald


The National Sports Media Association (NSMA) named the Boston Herald’s Karen Guregian the 2022 Massachusetts Sportswriter of the Year last week.

Guregian joined the Herald’s sports staff in 1984 and has covered the Patriots full-time since 2007. Through sharp columns and breaking news stories, Guregian has established herself as one of the most respected local voices in NFL media. Her reporting has taken Patriots fans inside the league’s most secretive organization for more than a decade and foreshadowed Tom Brady’s departure from New England in March 2021 after an unprecedented 20-year run.

This is the first time Guregian has been honored by the NSMA.

“There have been so many deserving award winners in the 63-year history of this organization, and yet, there are so many others who are deserving who have not won,” said NSMA executive director Dave Goren. “To see Karen receive this recognition from her peers after a long and distinguished run with one outlet brought a smile to my face.”

Over her award-winning career, Guregian has also covered the Red Sox, Celtics and Bruins, plus major events including two Olympics, the Super Bowl, World Series, Stanley Cup Final, U.S. Open Tennis Tournament, U.S. Open Golf Tournament, Boston Marathon, NCAA men’s hockey Frozen Four, the Beanpot, Head of the Charles Regatta, college basketball, football, softball and track events and scores of high school tournaments and championships.

“Karen is what they call in baseball a ‘five-tool’ player. She can literally do anything,” said Regional Sports Editor Bruce Castleberry. “It’s not just covering the Patriots. She’s been invaluable to the Herald in her leadership, her professionalism, her dedication … this is a well-deserved recognition.”

The other finalists for the Massachusetts Sportswriter of the Year award were Dan Shaughnessy, Gary Washburn, Tara Sullivan and Jim McBride of The Boston Globe, The Athletic’s Fluto Shinzawa and Brian Robb of MassLive. Red Sox radio play-by-play broadcaster Joe Castiglione was named the Massachusetts Sportscaster of the Year.


Source link